Upanishad Ganga | Complete Series | Hindi | English Commentary

Upanishad Ganga is a television series based on Upanishads, the ancient Hindu texts. For the people who don’t know what Upanishads are, here is the introductory primer.

Upanishads are part of Vedas, the most ancient religious texts. Vedas are divided into many parts. The end parts of these Veda’s parts were formed as Upanishads. There are around 118 Upanishads which is said to be the crux of religion. Also, Upanishads, besides Bhagwad Gita and Brahma Sutras, are foundation of Advaita Vedanta philosophy.

Upanishads are not about rituals and all. Upanishads are full of substances in the prospect of an individual’s journey inward.

Upanishad Ganga is created by none other than Dr. Chandraprakash Dwivedi, who is known for such things. People still remembers and praise his serial Chanakya , in which he has also acted as Chanakya.

Upanishad Ganga Concept:

Episodes 1-4:    Introduction to Vedic Culture

Episodes 5-22: Cultural Values for Society and Individual

Episodes 23-42: Wisdom of Upanishads

Episodes 43-51: Practical Implementation of Upanishadic Wisdom in our daily life

Episode 52: Gratitude for this wisdom

Upanishad Ganga Information:

Concept: Swami Tejomayananda

Production: Chinmaya Mission

Direction: Chandraprakash Dwivedi

Lead Cast: Abhimanyu Singh (Ransa Singh from Gulaal Movie fame,Performed 33 different roles)

Music Director: Alap Desai

Release: 11 March 2012

Other Actors: Huma Qureshi, Jaya Bhattacharya, K K Raina, Zakir Hussain(Not the tabla player 🙂 ), Vrejesh Hirjee, Sai Deodhar, Mukesh Tiwari, Dasika Dugal, Gagan Malik, Vishwa Badola, Rushad Rana, Purva Parag, Ravi Khanvilkar, Sandeep Mohan, Umang Gurjar, Aurohikha Dey, Faisal Rashid, Usha Rana, Gyanesh Pandey, Dev Khubnani, Amit Behl)

For English Readers:

As the language of the serial is Hindi, we don’t want our English readers to disappoint. We are trying to write you something, a sort of commentary, for each of the episode, so that you do not miss anything. Look for each episode for this commentary.

Upanishad Ganga Complete List of Episodes:

Below is the list of all 52 episodes of Upanishad Ganga. Given below are sort of outline for each episode, so that it’s easy to browse through. We know the feeling when there is such question: “Which was the episode where this/that happened?”. With the help of outline it will be very easy to select the episode.